## **Letter from the Chairman 2019**



As we celebrate our 40<sup>th</sup> anniversary, it is a good time for a review.

GAHK has developed from a purely academic body into one that serves the jewellery industry and consumers as well as the government.

In 2018-2019, GAHK assisted in establishing fei cui and diamond standards in the Trade Descriptions Ordinance and provided academic training to the HK Customs & Excise Department. With support from the HK Council for Testing & Certification (HKCTC), we set up the standard testing methods for fei cui and diamond, which has been adopted by the Hong Kong Accreditation Service (HKAS), and provided academic advice to the Consumer Council in order to strengthen consumer confidence in the Hong Kong jewellery industry.

Working with NGTC and CIBJO, GAHK has organised a number of seminars on fei cui with great success this year. We shall continue to strive to internationalise the term "Natural Fei Cui" in the world arena.

This year we also reached consensus with HKCTC and HKAS as to the future adoption of the Standard Methods for Testing Fei Cui for Hong Kong.

I should like to thank all the directors of GAHK for their hard work which has allowed us to achieve all this; promoting the association, recruiting new members, organising a variety of activities and providing platforms for professional development and working opportunities for members especially those who have qualified as Certified Gemmologists. Moreover this annual journal has stepped up to an international level, and is to be found in the collections of gemmological institutes around the world.

Finally we would like to thank the government departments, associations, exhibition organisers, business entities and individuals in the worldwide jewellery industry and gemmological community who have supported GAHK, offered venue and patronage, spurred us on to ever greater progress and positioned us for an even greater leap forward in the years to come.

FAN Siu Kam, Eddie Chairman



The 2017-2019 GAHK Directors and Prof. Mimi Ou Yang, Honorary Chairlady